So, I sat down to eat dinner tonight with my family…at least 10 different times.  Will I ever again sit down for a dinner where I can just sit down and enjoy eating my food?

Without going into a play-by-play of tonight’s dinner here are some of the things that prompted my frequent trips to the kitchen (it doesn’t help that I have the closest seat to the kitchen):

  • Butter for the biscuits
  • plates for the biscuits
  • Butter everyone’s biscuit
  • Bread to substitute for the aforementioned biscuits because a child doesn’t like the taste of the biscuits.
  • Wipe sick child’s nose.
  • Butter biscuit of not-so-picky child
  • Cut off the crusts of aforementioned bread to further accommodate child who didn’t like the bisquits.
  • Butter biscuit of not-so-picky child
  • Wipe sick child’s nose.
  • Toast an english muffin to satisfy the inedible biscuit substitute.
  • Butter biscuit of not-so-picky child
  • Peanut butter and jelly for the new biscuit substitute.
  • Wipe sick child’s nose.
  • Butter biscuit of not-so-picky child
  • Diet Coke for mommy.
  • More macaroni and cheese for the not-so-picky child.
  • Fake application of butter to biscuit for the not-so-picky child.
  • Take what remains of dinner away from the not-so-picky child before it ends up at the four corners of the dining room.

There other things that escape my mind at the moment.  It’s no wonder I have heartburn after every meal.  Now I can tell my parents, “See, there is a reason that I was always eating my food so fast.  I was practicing for becoming a father!”

