Where do people find time to read all of the information assailing them on the Internet?

I’m following a handful of blogs from my family members and others and I can barely keep up with them let alone the myriad of sources of information all over the web.  This leads me to a couple of thoughts about blogging.  Well, one thought with several different facets, really.

Learn how to write!

There is nothing that will turn me away from a blog, or site, faster than poorly written posts.  I’m not talking about a typo here or there, or an occasional misspelling.  I’m talking about the bastardization of the English language with the use of “text speak” or other inane variations of “e-speak”.

I wanted to cut and paste an excerpt from a “Hawt” (I’ll get to this one in a second) Post highlighted by the WordPress site, but I’m not sure I can find it now (nor do I really want to spend a great deal of time looking for it).  The post excerpt was so full of mysterious symbols and combinations of letters that I was tempted to click on the link just to see if I could figure out what the post was about.

Hawt.  I’m assuming that that is a vernacular version of “hot”, as in “a hot commodity”.  Why?  Why change a perfectly acceptable English word and replace it with a silly and childishly spelled version?  I don’t get it.  Perhaps a blog savvy reader could enlighten me.  The morphing of normal words into e-words is disturbing.  It seems to me to reflect a trend of a failing education system (not just schools, but parents as well) that makes little or no effort to teach the importance (or the beauty) of the English language and its proper use.  I am no English scholar, but I respect my native tongue more and more each time I read or write and that propels me to languish over a phrase for as long as it takes in order to get it just so (sadly, I don’t always have the time I need to write this way which explains why I don’t write as much as I would like).

One last feature of irritating posts is the casual use of acronyms.  I realize that someone posting about an obscure music scene in a remote part of New Zealand isn’t really trying to catch my attention and that often people are posting for readers who use all of the same language that the writer employs, but how then do these posts become “Hawt” posts on WordPress?  Maybe I’m just behind the times.  I still use words like “groovy” and “hip” when I slip into the vernacular, but I try to be reasonable with its use and approach writing with a certain degree of seriousness.

Oh well.  I’ve become Officer Krupke.

MW

PS A perfect reason to avoid silly new, morphed words is that no respectable spell checker understands what you are writing.  Not that we should run everything by a spell checker, but whether our spell checker is electronic or human, it’s important to take a certain degree of pride in what you are doing by doing it well.

