The 10 Big Lies About America: Combating Destructive Distortions About Our Nation's Past and Present The 10 Big Lies About America: Combating Destructive Distortions About Our Nation’s Past and Present by Michael Medved

My review


rating: 3 of 5 stars
I enjoyed this analysis of our nations history and the people who would seek to demean the greatness of the United States. For the most part, I think that Medved keeps a realistic perspective on the failings of our nation’s heritage while lauding all of the uniquely good things that have taken shape here.

I found his assessment on lie #10 (Moral Decline) to be a little short on detail. It was almost as though he wanted to be fair by calling out some of the conservatives on a “big lie”. The chapter isn’t without merit, but it seems to me to be a little thin in its analysis.

For voracious readers of conservative material, this will probably not be a groudbreaking type of read for you. For people in the so-called center of the political divide between conservatives and liberals, you might find this book informative without feeling beaten up by a firebrand apologist. Medved does not hide his conservative ideals, but I think he does a reasonable job of selling his analysis.

View all my reviews.

