The other day, Rush Limbaugh was talking about polling and the organizations that conduct them.  My summary is that polls are used to advance agendas of the news organizations conducting the polls.

Now, the Rutland Herald probably does not have much influence on foreign policy in Washington, but consider the (unscientific) polling that they’ve done on their website and I think it serves as a microcosm of what goes on in a larger scale in the nation.

RutlandHerald.com - Rutland Herald - Rutland news, Rutland sports, Rutland real estate, Vermont jobs_1255178090680

Who isn’t concerned about going to war?  There is no way to answer this poll for reasonable people who might disagree about the appropriate use of force (read: war) to best meet our national defense needs.  If I answer “Yes” (as I hope most sane people would), I’ll be lumped in with a lot of people who think that war should never be considered as a tool of diplomacy.  If I answer “No”, then I’ll appear unconcerned about either Iranians or Americans.  If I answer “I don’t know”, then it will appear that I’m aloof and that I haven’t really given the matter any thought.

So, how should I vote?

So I can paste a picture of the results (as of today at roughly 9am), I will vote “Yes”, because whether I like the idea of going to war with Iran or not, I am concerned because it will mean lives lost and life is precious.  Here are the results:

RutlandHerald.com - Rutland Herald - Rutland news, Rutland sports, Rutland real estate, Vermont jobs_1255179115589

Wow!  I’m surprised to see how many voted “No”.

Granted, this poll will probably not be used to influence anyone, I think that it is still an example of how polling (more often than not) serves the agenda of the pollster through wording that limits the possible answers.

