Not long ago, my wife Meredith and I tried a diet to help us achieve a healthier weight. We talked to John Scaralia at BodyTech in downtown Rutland and he was very thorough in his explanation of how his diet worked. The premise behind the diet is feed muscle, burn fat. The plan seemed sound and we certainly would not have been starving on this diet. It features a balance of protein, carbohydrate, and fat elements of the diet with an emphasis on the protein as the muscle builder. Blah, blah, blah…diet. Moving on…

So, that started my foray into eating 5 eggs a day. Yes, five. Did you know that all of the fat in an egg is in the yoke? Yes, it’s true. Most of the protein is in the white. Who knew? (I’ve been saying that a lot lately, sorry.)

I don’t eat five whole eggs. I eat 1 whole egg with 4 additional egg whites.

It takes a bit of time to crack and separate 5 eggs in the morning. I tried the egg whites that you can buy in cartons and I didn’t really care for it. So, I am stuck with cracking 5 eggs every morning.

Once cracked, I usually just cook them omelet style. I don’t add anything because that would seem to take away from the “healthiness” of it. They taste good all by themselves. Plain. But, that’s me. Plain. I like vanilla, too.

As for the diet, it didn’t last long because it required me to eat 6 meals a day! I didn’t have time for preparing all of that.

The good news is that my weight is pretty healthy. So, here’s to the mighty egg!

P.S. In case you needed incentive to have a healthy weight, when I lost 30 pounds from my peak weight all of my cholesterol numbers improved dramatically. No special diet, just weight. I was stunned.

