It seems like I’ll start each of these posts with some sort of disclaimer (as though my three faithful readers will notice that I originally published them without anything in them). Today’s disclaimer is like the first, all of these posts were “pre-published” as a way to make sure that I got all of the headings correct and that I would actually have a deadline to force me to get them done. Unfortunately, using my phone as my blogging device has its challenges, not the least of which is typing, and I am not able to include videos very easily.

As for a song that makes me sad…

Adagio for Strings by Samuel Barber.

It makes me sad in a good way, if that’s possible. When my grandfather, Richard Mock, died in April of 2000 I remember taking out a never-before-played-record (yes, the vinyl kind) of the Barber piece and playing it in the middle school band room while I waited for my students to arrive. Thankfully, they weren’t there that day and I was able to sit still and let the ten incredible intense minutes of the swelling melody just wash over and through my grief at the loss of such a huge figure in my life.

As the music releases into an incredible pianissimo, so too my grief faded and was replaced by relief. Not relief that my grandfather was gone, but that my grief was worked out. The music didn’t heal me, but it took me through my grief in a way that allowed me to heal.

